Aske Plaat

FotoAske2

Professor & Scientific Director
Department of Computer Science (LIACS)
Leiden University, Snellius 167
Niels Bohrweg 1, 2333 CA Leiden, The Netherlands

Research Interests
I am professor and scientific director of the department of computer science (LIACS). I work in machine learning; combinatorial search and games are my main fields. Very exciting things are happening in reinforcement learning with the breakthrough by AlphaGo Zero.

Bio
I studied artificial intelligence under the guidance of Jonathan Schaeffer at the University of Alberta, Edmonton and Arie de Bruin at the Erasmus University, Rotterdam where I obtained my PhD in 1996. I worked with Charles Leiserson at the MIT Lab for Computer Science, Cambridge, Massachusetts, on the Cilk parallel computing system. Later I worked with Henri Bal at VU Amsterdam on scalable algorithms. In 2014 I joined Leiden University; in 2016 I was appointed scientific director of LIACS.

Longer Bio.

Office 
Snellius 167

Appointments
Please check with Marloes van der Nat, 071-527.7061

Email

